Friday, April 12, 2024

Sri Lanka replaced as host of U19 Cricket World Cup

The ICC Committee announced the new host country for the 15th edition of the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2024 will be held in South Africa in January after the ICC board confirmed the replacement of Sri Lanka as hosts at a meeting today.

Recently, the ICC suspended Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) for violating its responsibilities as a member, namely failing to monitor its affairs independently and without government interference.

After the board meeting, it was revealed that while Sri Lanka will be able to continue to compete internationally in both bilateral cricket and ICC tournaments, the funds for the SLC will be managed by the ICC and therefore U19 the tournament went to the host nation it There was the Women’s U19 T20 World Cup earlier this year.

The upcoming World Cup is the 15th edition of the Under-19 men’s tournament, after the last tournament in the West Indies in 2022 which India won for the fifth time

A revised tournament format has been introduced with an additional Super Six stage after the group stage to determine the semi-finalists.

The 16 participating teams are divided into four groups of four. Defending champions India will be joined by Bangladesh, Ireland, and the USA in Group A. Group B includes England, South Africa, the West Indies, and Scotland. Group C includes Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia, and Group D includes Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal.

The tournament, which starts in January, will feature 41 matches, with the final coming in February.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles