Friday, June 21, 2024

All Franchises announce player retentions ahead of PSL 9 Draft

PSL 9 Draft: All six franchises have completed their marketing and player retention ahead of the HBL PSL Player Draft 2024 scheduled to take place on December 13 at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore

Every right was given to eight people. Except for Multan Sultans – who retained seven players – all the franchises made full use of their retentions.

Lahore Qalanders, the reigning champions and champions of the past two seasons, have retained their captain Shaheen Shah Afridi in the Platinum team while Haris Rauf has been named as the brand ambassador of the team in the Diamond team. Sikandar Raj, the sixth-ranked Twenty20 player in the ICC, has been retained in the Gold category, while second-ranked Rashid Khan has been retained in Silver, although Mirza may miss the tournament due to injury with Tahir Baig has closed Silver after a successful relegation request.

Two-time champions Islamabad United have retained eighth ICC Twenty20 player Shadab Khan along with his trader Naseem Shah who won the Platinum category Karachi Kings diamondman Imad Wasim who moved to Islamabad United as team mentor, Gold category Faheem Ashraf has also been appointed brand ambassador while Rumman Rais has remained at Silver after a successful appeal on the ground.

Multan Sultans have included their skipper Mohammad Rizwan, the ICC’s second T20I batsman, in the Platinum team. Iftikhar Ahmed is Multan’s new platinum player after a successful trade with Quetta Gladiators. HBL PSL 2023 player Ihsanullah has been appointed as the brand ambassador of the side and has been included in the silver category. After a successful trade with Karachi Kings, Faisal Akram has been transferred to Emerging.

Shaan Masood and Shoaib Malik have been retained by Karachi Kings for Gold. Before the end of the trade window, Shan Masood was traded for left-handed thumper Faisal Akram. Shaan has also been appointed as the brand ambassador while Malik has been appointed as the team mentor. Mir Hamza remains in Silver, after a successful relegation bid.

Quetta Gladiators have retained world number 5 Twenty20 batsman Riley Rossouw in Platinum and third-ranked T20I bowler Vanindu Hasaranga in Diamond. Mohammad Waseem Jr. was arrested. and Abrar Ahmed have entered Diamond and Gold after successful trades. Jason Roy, who holds the record for the highest individual score in HBL PSL history, remains on the Diamond as well. Sarfraz Ahmed has been appointed as the brand ambassador of Quetta Gladiator and has been inducted in gold.

Babur Azam, the most successful batsman in the history of HBL PSL and currently ranked fourth in the ICC Twenty20E rankings, has been placed in platinum by Peshawar Zalmi along with West Indies power hitter Rovman Powell Haris who has been retained in the gold team and has been named a brand ambassador.

Full retentions:

  • Lahore Qalandars:
    • Shaheen Shah Afridi (Platinum)
    • Haris Rauf (Brand Ambassador), David Wiese (both Diamond)
    • Sikandar Raza, Abdullah Shafique, Zaman Khan (all Gold)
    • Mirza Tahir Baig (Successful relegation request), Rashid Khan (both Silver)
  • Islamabad United:
    • Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah (both Platinum)
    • Imad Wasim (Mentor), Azam Khan (both Diamond)
    • Faheem Ashraf (Brand Ambassador)
    • Alex Hales, Colin Munro (all Gold)
    • Rumman Raees (Successful relegation request in Silver)
  • Multan Sultans:
    • Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed (both Platinum)
    • Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir (both Diamond)
    • Abbas Afridi (Gold)
    • Ihsanullah (Brand Ambassador, Silver), Faisal Akram (Emerging)
  • Karachi Kings:
    • James Vince, Hasan Ali (Diamond)
    • Shan Masood (Brand Ambassador)
    • Shoaib Malik (Mentor), Tabraiz Shamsi (all Gold)
    • Mir Hamza (Successful relegation request), Muhammad Akhlaq (both Silver), Muhammad Irfan Khan (Emerging)
  • Quetta Gladiators:
    • Rilee Rossouw (Platinum)
    • Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond)
    • Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador)
    • Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold)
    • Will Smeed (Silver)
  • Peshawar Zalmi:
    • Babar Azam, Rovman Powell (both Platinum)
    • Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (all Diamond)
    • Mohammad Haris (Brand Ambassador)
    • Aamir Jamal (both Gold)
    • Khurram Shahzad (Silver), Haseebullah (Emerging)
  • Star Foreign Players in Platinum:
    • Daniel Sams, Ashton Agar (both Australia)
    • Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (all Afghanistan)
    • Ben Duckett, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Dawid Malan, Luke Wood, Reece Topley, Tom Curran, Tymal Mills (all England)
    • Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)
    • James Neesham (New Zealand)
    • Rassie van der Dussen, Imran Tahir (both South Africa)
    • Mahesh Theekshana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (all Sri Lanka)
    • Kieron Pollard, Romario Shepherd, Brandon King Sherfane Rutherford, Kyle Mayers (all West Indies)
  • Star Foreign Players in Diamond:
    • Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi (both Afghanistan)
    • Ben McDermott (Australia)
    • Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahmudullah (all Bangladesh)
    • Dan Lawrence, Gus Atkinson, Jordan Cox, Liam Dawson, Matthew Potts, Ollie Pope, Richard Gleeson, Sam Hain (all England)
    • Tim Seifert, Martin Guptill, Chad Bowes (all New Zealand)
    • George Linde, Lungi Ngidi, Reeza Hendricks, Wayne Parnell, Sisanda Magala (all South Africa)
    • Dilshan Madushanka, Charith Asalanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Sadeera Samarawickrama (all Sri Lanka)
    • Fabian Allen, Johnson Charles, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh (all West Indies)

Related Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles