Tuesday, July 23, 2024

PCB announces Pakistan squad for the Australia Test series

Chief selector Wahab Riaz has named an 18-member Pakistan Test squad for Australia with three matches scheduled on December 14, 2023 and January 7, 2024. This will be Wahab’s first assignment after taking over the national squad whose committee was elected last week

Shaan Masood will lead the team in his first role as Test captain. He was appointed Pakistan captain for the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 ​​cycle after taking over from Babar Azam last week.

Left-arm opening batsman Sam Ayub got his maiden call-up for the Test team after an impressive run in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24. The 22-year-old scored 553 runs in four matches for the Karachi Whites and has three centuries to his name, including a match-winning double-century in Faisalabad in the tournament final He continued his form in the Pakistan Cup (ODI). where he was named the best player of the tournament, finishing as the top scorer of the tournament

Right-arm fast bowler Khurram Shahzad has also been rewarded with his first Test call-up, following back-to-back successful domestic seasons so far. The 23-year-old was the highest wicket-taker in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, taking 36 wickets at an average of 20.31 in eight matches and 13 at 16.62 in the recently concluded Pakistan Cup He took wickets

Pace bowler Faheem Ashraf, who played his last Test for Pakistan during England’s tour of Pakistan in late 2022, is back in the team

Left-hander Mir Hamza, who recorded 32 wickets at 20.88 in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, and right-hander Mohammad Wasim Jr. also returned to the team for the New Zealand tour of Pakistan from December 2022 to January 2023 At the time, these two fast bowlers were part of the Pakistan squad.

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Related Articles


Comments are closed.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles