Friday, April 12, 2024

NZ v PAK: Pakistan’s T20I Squad’s Journey to New Zealand

Shaheen Afridi and Core Members’ Departure from Australia

As the T20I captain, Shaheen Afridi, along with five key squad members, prepares to embark on a journey from Australia to New Zealand on Monday, the anticipation among cricket enthusiasts is palpable. This marks a significant moment for the team, setting the stage for a thrilling series against New Zealand.

Departure Logistics

  • Departure Date: Monday
  • Route: Australia to New Zealand via Dubai
  • Advance Team: Six members already in Auckland
    • Abbas Afridi
    • Azam Khan
    • Fakhar Zaman
    • Haseebullah Khan
    • Iftikhar Ahmed
    • Sahibzada Farhan

Squad Readiness and Arrival in Auckland for NZ v PAK

The initial group, having left last Wednesday night, comprises key players gearing up for the challenging five-match T20I series. Their arrival in Auckland signifies the beginning of intense preparations and acclimatization to the New Zealand conditions.

Key Players in the Advance Team

  1. Abbas Afridi
  2. Azam Khan (wicket-keeper)
  3. Fakhar Zaman
  4. Haseebullah Khan (wicket-keeper)
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Sahibzada Farhan

Additional Members Joining the Fray

Adding to the squad’s strength, four more members departed from Australia to Auckland on Friday. Mohammad Nawaz, Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf, and Usama Mir bring additional depth and versatility to the team for NZ v PAK.

Test Series Conclusion and Players Returning

In parallel, with the conclusion of the Test series in Australia, Test captain Shan Masood and accompanying players will return to Pakistan from Australia on Monday. This ensures a seamless transition in team dynamics, with both T20I and Test squads making strategic moves.

The Five-Match T20I Series: Schedule and Venues for NZ v PAK

The excitement reaches its peak as the T20I series unfolds across four iconic New Zealand venues. From Auckland to Christchurch, the cricketing action promises intense competition and memorable moments.

Full Squad Overview (NZ v PAK)

  • Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain)
  • Aamir Jamal
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Azam Khan (wicket-keeper)
  • Babar Azam
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Rauf
  • Haseebullah (wicket-keeper)
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper)
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  • Sahibzada Farhan
  • Saim Ayub
  • Usama Mir
  • Zaman Khan

Match Schedule (NZ v PAK)

  1. 1st T20 – 12 January 2024 at Eden Park, Auckland
  2. 2nd T20 – 14 January 2024 at Seddon Park, Hamilton
  3. 3rd T20 – 17 January 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin
  4. 4th T20 – 19 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch
  5. 5th T20 – 21 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

In-depth Insights and Expectations

Stay tuned for in-depth insights into the team’s preparation, strategies, and player dynamics as we delve deeper into the journey of Pakistan’s T20I squad in New Zealand.


Q: What is the departure schedule for Shaheen Afridi and the squad? A: The T20I captain and key squad members depart from Australia to New Zealand on Monday.

Q: How many players are already in Auckland for the T20I series? A: Six players, including Abbas Afridi and Fakhar Zaman, arrived last Wednesday night for early preparations.

Q: Who are the additional members joining the squad in Auckland? A: Mohammad Nawaz, Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf, and Usama Mir departed from Australia on Friday to join the squad.

Q: When is the Test squad returning from Australia? A: The Test squad, led by Shan Masood, will return to Pakistan from Australia on Monday.

Q: When and where will the T20I series be played in New Zealand? A: The five-match T20I series will take place from 12 to 21 January in Auckland, Hamilton, Dunedin, and Christchurch.

Q: Can you provide the full squad for the T20I series? A: The squad includes Shaheen Shah Afridi, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, and other key players as mentioned earlier.


nz v pak

As Pakistan’s T20I squad embarks on its journey to New Zealand for the NZ v PAK T20I series, cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the unfolding drama on the Kiwi grounds. The strategic moves, player dynamics, and the thrill of the T20I series promise an enthralling cricketing spectacle.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles