Tuesday, July 23, 2024

David Warner set to miss five-match T20I series against India

Veteran Australian batsman David Warner has been ruled out of the upcoming five-match Twenty20 series against India. The left-handed batsman impressed for Australia in the recently concluded ODI World Cup, scoring 535 runs in 11 matches. It is worth mentioning that the T20I series starts just four days after the mega tournament in India and hence, many senior cricketers from each team will be attending the series as part of their management duties.

Meanwhile, Cricket Australia has confirmed that Warner will return to the country after a tough World Cup. He joins captain Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh to name a few.

“The selectors have decided that Warner will return home after a successful but demanding World Cup campaign,” read a statement from Cricket Australia.

Aaron Hardy has been called up to replace Warner. The 24-year-old made his debut in the international series against South Africa earlier in the year but failed to impress. However, he has a terrific record in the Big Bash League, which should give him the confidence to do well.

On the other hand, Kane Richardson will replace Spencer Johnson, who is currently recovering from a hamstring injury. Richardson represented Australia in 35 T20Is, picking up 44 wickets in the process.

Head coach Andrew McDonald will also miss the Twenty20 series against India. Following a successful World Cup campaign, the 42-year-old was given a break when Andre Borovec was announced as stand-in coach Travis Head was appointed manager in the absence of boss Pat Cummins.

Meanwhile, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Adam Zampa, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott and Marcus Stoines have decided to play a T20I series despite being part of Australia’s World Cup campaign squad but not expected as such cricketers all these will play all five balls, as the cricketers got hardly any break in the busy tournament.

Australian T20I squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardy, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Ti, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanvir Sangh, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoins, Kane Richardson, Written by Adam Zampa.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles